Durand Cup prize money gets massive hike

first_imgSome of the big names in Indian football may not be participating in the 124th edition of the Durand Cup, but the world’s third oldest tournament will see a major hike in prize money.While the total budget has gone up from last year’s Rs 43 lakh to Rs 1.50 crore, the champion team would receive Rs 20 lakh, a rise of Rs 15 lakh from last year. The runners-up will get Rs 10 lakh and the third placed team Rs 500,000.The main round matches, which starts on October 4, will be held under the floodlights and will be telecasted on DD Sports. The final will be held on October 15.”We will conduct the main round matches under the floodlights to attract a larger number of spectators,” Manvender Singh, chairman of Durand Football Tournament Society and GOC Delhi Area, said on Monday. All the matches will be held at the Ambedkar Stadium.The main round will have nine clubs along with two teams progressing from the qualifiers and Army Red, the champion team from the Services. The 12 clubs will be divided into four groups with one containing three teams.Though clubs like Dempo, East Bengal and Mohun Bagan are not competing, the tournament will see defending champions Prayag United (earlier Chirag United), I-League champions Salgaocar, and Churchill Brothers vying for the top honours.Another team to watch out for will be United Sikkim, co-owned by former India captain Bhaichung Bhutia. Other major clubs that will take part are Pune FC and Mohammedan Sporting.Pune FC, who will be playing EPL side Blackburn Rovers on October 7 at the Balewadi Sports Complex in Pune, have their first match against ONGC on October 5.advertisement”We have requested the organisers to schedule our matches after October 7. But we don’t know if that will be possible now. We will have to sort out the issue in the next few days,” Pune FC coach Dereck Pereira told MAIL TODAY.The first match of the main round will be between Prayag United and a qualifying team.Bhawanipur FC winBhawanipur FC defeated Army Green 3-1 in a qualifying round match on Monday. Douglas De Silva, Satyajit Bose and Rahul Mistry scored for Bhawanipur while Deepak Srestha was the lone scorer for Army Green. In another match, Border Security Force defeated J&K Bank 4-3.Tuesday’s matches: Army Junior vs CRPF (1.30 pm); Indian Navy vs Punjab Police (3.30pm).last_img

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments